Published On: Mon, Aug 8th, 2016

Relocating These Flowers to the Back Deck Seemed to Revive Them

Earlier in April I planted some annuals in some planters on the front porch.  I knew there was going to be very little direct sunlight, but the label said the plant does well in shade.  Well, after the flowers promptly died and never seemed to bloom again, I moved them to the back deck where there’s plenty of sunlight.

At first it looked like they were down for the count.  They shriveled, wilted and threw in the towel.  So I watered them, every day, over and over, practically drowning them to fight the blazing heat.  And then, well, they decided to bloom after all.

Flowers on the back deck
Flowers on the back deck
Flowers on the back deck
Flowers on the back deck

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.

 
 

About the Author

David Gaines

- David Gaines is a Washington, DC, resident transplanted from North Carolina whose dream career was a newspaper writer but settled for the recruiting industry and simply blogging about whatever thoughts crosses his mind.

129 views


Upcoming Events

  1. Washington Nationals: Kids Coloring Book

    Saturday, July 29 @ 1:35 pm - 3:00 pm
  2. SAAM Arcade

    Saturday, August 5 - Sunday, August 6
  3. FestAfrica! 15th Annual Free African Festival

    Saturday, August 12 @ 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  4. Capital Dragon Boat Races

    Saturday, August 26 @ 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  5. 17th Street Festival

    Sunday, August 27 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  6. DC VegFest

    Saturday, September 2
  7. Library of Congress Book Fest

    Saturday, September 2 @ 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
  8. The Great Inflatable Race

    Saturday, September 9 @ 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  9. Adams Morgan Day 2017

    Sunday, September 10 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  10. H Street Festival

    Saturday, September 16 @ 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Archives

Categories