Published On: Sat, Jul 9th, 2016

Smithsonian Folklife Festival Featuring Basque Culture and the Music of California

Each summer we make it a point to check out the Smithsonian Folklife Festival. This year featured the Basque and the Music of California.

9708Folklife

9709BasqueLands

Basque cuisine is interesting. We ordered talo con chistorra, a grilled paprika pork sausage. Different.

9714BasqueCuisine

9715BasqueFood

9722Najwa

9727Nduku

9728Folklife

9730California

They had a kid’s section where the kids made paper whales. Kind of like origami but with about four folds total. Najwa didn’t seem too impressed. I didn’t even bother taking a picture of the whale. Anyway.

9735PaperWhale

The Basque are known for their carvings and stone work, They had one of their renowned artists carving up some stuff. That was cool.

9738

9739

9740

BasqueSign9750

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.

 
 

About the Author

David Gaines

- David Gaines is a Washington, DC, resident transplanted from North Carolina whose dream career was a newspaper writer but settled for the recruiting industry and simply blogging about whatever thoughts crosses his mind.



Upcoming Events

  1. Washington Nationals: Kids Coloring Book

    Saturday, July 29 @ 1:35 pm - 3:00 pm
  2. SAAM Arcade

    Saturday, August 5 - Sunday, August 6
  3. FestAfrica! 15th Annual Free African Festival

    Saturday, August 12 @ 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  4. Capital Dragon Boat Races

    Saturday, August 26 @ 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  5. 17th Street Festival

    Sunday, August 27 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  6. DC VegFest

    Saturday, September 2
  7. Library of Congress Book Fest

    Saturday, September 2 @ 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
  8. The Great Inflatable Race

    Saturday, September 9 @ 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  9. Adams Morgan Day 2017

    Sunday, September 10 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  10. H Street Festival

    Saturday, September 16 @ 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Archives

Categories