Published On: Sat, Jul 12th, 2014

Another Rhododendron In The New Planter Area

Not easily discouraged, and in no way going to accept not having plants on the side of the house after tearing out all the previous plants, I got another rhododendron for the new bulb out planter while the original rhododendron continues to fight for its life.

onenewrhody0001

onenewrhody01

onenewrhody02

onenewrhody05

onenewrhody07

onenewrhody0011

onenewrhody00

Looks like the first rhododendron isn’t going to make it. The leaves are sagging again. Maybe, as I’ve learned, the soil isn’t acidic enough. Maybe it’s pests. Or lack of sunshine though it’s a shade plant. Or drainage still isn’t happening though almost a foot above ground level.

Whatever.

rhody-dying-again

rhodydying02

rhodydying03

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.

 
 

About the Author

David Gaines

- David Gaines is a Washington, DC, resident transplanted from North Carolina whose dream career was a newspaper writer but settled for the recruiting industry and simply blogging about whatever thoughts crosses his mind.

84 views


Upcoming Events

  1. 2017 Giant National Capital Barbecue Battle

    Saturday, June 24 - Sunday, June 25
  2. Kennedy Street NW Street Festival

    Saturday, June 24 @ 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
  3. 3rd Annual Northeast Library Block Party

    Sunday, June 25 @ 1:00 pm
  4. Smithsonian Folklife Festival

    Thursday, June 29 - Sunday, July 9
  5. Washington Nationals: Kids Coloring Book

    Saturday, July 29 @ 1:35 pm - 3:00 pm
  6. SAAM Arcade

    Saturday, August 5 - Sunday, August 6
  7. FestAfrica! 15th Annual Free African Festival

    Saturday, August 12 @ 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  8. Capital Dragon Boat Races

    Saturday, August 26 @ 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  9. 17th Street Festival

    Sunday, August 27 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  10. DC VegFest

    Saturday, September 2

Archives

Categories