Published On: Mon, May 12th, 2014

Got a Rhododendron Plant for Side of the House

I literally have never planted anything in my life. Other than some marigold bulbs in the 3rd grade for a class project. And they died when I didn’t know I was supposed to put them in soil once they sprouted.

But, I got this $50 rhododendron bush because the nursery says it grows well in a shaded-area — the side of the house being north facing and not getting a lot of light — and the flowers looked pretty.

I put it by the gate, the thinking is eventually I’ll line the whole side of the house with plants, but first I have to get rid of those other plants already there. I’m trying to like them but it’s not working.

Let’s see how this plant does.

rhody03

rhody01

rhody02

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.

 
 

About the Author

David Gaines

- David Gaines is a Washington, DC, resident transplanted from North Carolina whose dream career was a newspaper writer but settled for the recruiting industry and simply blogging about whatever thoughts crosses his mind.

114 views


Upcoming Events

  1. Washington Nationals: Kids Coloring Book

    Saturday, July 29 @ 1:35 pm - 3:00 pm
  2. SAAM Arcade

    Saturday, August 5 - Sunday, August 6
  3. FestAfrica! 15th Annual Free African Festival

    Saturday, August 12 @ 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  4. Capital Dragon Boat Races

    Saturday, August 26 @ 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  5. 17th Street Festival

    Sunday, August 27 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  6. DC VegFest

    Saturday, September 2
  7. Library of Congress Book Fest

    Saturday, September 2 @ 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
  8. The Great Inflatable Race

    Saturday, September 9 @ 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  9. Adams Morgan Day 2017

    Sunday, September 10 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  10. H Street Festival

    Saturday, September 16 @ 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Archives

Categories