Published On: Thu, Apr 17th, 2014

Outdoor Photos: Plants, Tire Planter, Under the Back Patio

Te previous owners built this planter with a tire. Literally, a tire. Flipped one inside out and planted stuff in it. I have to get rid of it. Looks like a mosquito hotel to me.

tire-planter

When we were having flooding in the basement, I put down some plastic against the side of the house, thinking it was seeping in after a rain from the foundation or something. But that wasn’t it, and I removed the plastic. Against the fence, the plants I’m not too fond of started to grow back strong. When I removed the plastic, the plants that were there were doing their best. They just need a little light. Before I dig them all up.

plantscomingoutground

plantscoming-outground

Under the back patio were some bricks just semi-buried in the ground. I dug them up. Not sure what I’m going to do with that area yet, but I just hated looking at the bricks burrowing like insects.

underdeck01

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.

 
 

About the Author

David Gaines

- David Gaines is a Washington, DC, resident transplanted from North Carolina whose dream career was a newspaper writer but settled for the recruiting industry and simply blogging about whatever thoughts crosses his mind.

78 views


Upcoming Events

  1. 2017 Giant National Capital Barbecue Battle

    Saturday, June 24 - Sunday, June 25
  2. Kennedy Street NW Street Festival

    Saturday, June 24 @ 11:00 am - 3:00 pm
  3. 3rd Annual Northeast Library Block Party

    Sunday, June 25 @ 1:00 pm
  4. Smithsonian Folklife Festival

    Thursday, June 29 - Sunday, July 9
  5. Washington Nationals: Kids Coloring Book

    Saturday, July 29 @ 1:35 pm - 3:00 pm
  6. SAAM Arcade

    Saturday, August 5 - Sunday, August 6
  7. FestAfrica! 15th Annual Free African Festival

    Saturday, August 12 @ 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  8. Capital Dragon Boat Races

    Saturday, August 26 @ 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  9. 17th Street Festival

    Sunday, August 27 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  10. DC VegFest

    Saturday, September 2

Archives

Categories