Published On: Mon, Jul 23rd, 2012

Kiepenkerl Statue at The Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden

This statue by sculptor Jeff Koons is based on the one in Münster, Germany. The statue commemorates the popular figure of the “Kiepenkerl” (Peddler), the traveling salesmen who traded goods and gossip in the medieval Münsterland region. It’s a statue of a full-length figure of a young man, with basket on his back, and a basket at the ground near his proper right leg.

Leave a comment

You must be Logged in to post comment.

 
 

About the Author

David Gaines

- David Gaines is a Washington, DC, resident transplanted from North Carolina whose dream career was a newspaper writer but settled for the recruiting industry and simply blogging about whatever thoughts crosses his mind.

651 views


Upcoming Events

  1. Washington Nationals: Kids Coloring Book

    Saturday, July 29 @ 1:35 pm - 3:00 pm
  2. SAAM Arcade

    Saturday, August 5 - Sunday, August 6
  3. FestAfrica! 15th Annual Free African Festival

    Saturday, August 12 @ 1:00 pm - 8:00 pm
  4. Capital Dragon Boat Races

    Saturday, August 26 @ 9:00 am - 5:00 pm
  5. 17th Street Festival

    Sunday, August 27 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  6. DC VegFest

    Saturday, September 2
  7. Library of Congress Book Fest

    Saturday, September 2 @ 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
  8. The Great Inflatable Race

    Saturday, September 9 @ 9:00 am - 1:00 pm
  9. Adams Morgan Day 2017

    Sunday, September 10 @ 12:00 pm - 6:00 pm
  10. H Street Festival

    Saturday, September 16 @ 12:00 pm - 5:00 pm

Archives

Categories